@5ones - follow us on twitter

A Highly Deserving Joel Parkinson Wins the 2008 Vans Triple Crown

joel parkinson

If ever anyone deserved to have the cards fall their way, it’s the 2008 version of Joel Parkinson. At the end of what’s been a very successful, yet very disappointing year in competitive surfing for the Coolie Kid, Parko sealed his first ever Vans Triple Crown of Surfing victory the moment Kelly Slater put the finishing touches on his own Pipe Masters win.

After seeing good friend Mick Fanning win the world championship last year, Parko’s been a man possessed. Many expected Parko to break looses this year and follow in Mick’s footseps. He said himself that Fanning’s win lit a fire and made a world championship appear possible. Unfortunately he chose the wrong year to have what is ending up as one of his best years.

Between a psychotic Kelly Slater and a few tough breaks along the way, and even though he surfed out of his mind all year, he just could not seem to find his way to the victory podium…..until now. He had to sweat it out until the very last second of the year, but the moment Ward went down to Slater, and as a result of 5th, 5th, and 9th place finishes at Haleiwa, Sunset, and Pipeline, Joel Parkinson became the 2008 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing winner for the first time in his career.

Congratulations Joel Parkinson, winner of the 2008 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing.

Joel Parkinson just joined this group of legends below-

Past Winners of the Triple Crown of Surfing

2008 – Joel Parkinson, Australia
2007 – Bede Durbidge, Australia
2006 – Andy Irons, Hawaii
2005 – Andy Irons, Hawaii
2004 – Sunny Garcia, Hawaii
2003 – Andy Irons, Hawaii
2002 – Andy Irons, Hawaii
2001 – Myles Padaca, Hawaii
2000 – Sunny Garcia, Hawaii
1999 – Sunny Garcia, Hawaii
1998 – Kelly Slater, Florida
1997 – Mike Rommelse, Australia
1996 – Kaipo Jaquias, Hawaii
1995 – Kelly Slater, Florida
1994 – Sunny Garcia, Hawaii
1993 – Sunny Garcia, Hawaii
1992 – Sunny Garcia, Hawaii
1991 – Tom Carroll, Australia
1990 – Derek Ho, Hawaii
1989 – Gary Elkerton, Australia
1988 – Derek Ho, Hawaii
1987 – Gary Elkerton, Australia
1986 – Derek Ho, Hawaii
1985 – Michael Ho, Hawaii
1984 – Derek Ho, Hawaii

Tags: ,

Posted by Shaun on Friday, December 12th, 2008 in Surfing.

Related Posts

One Response to “A Highly Deserving Joel Parkinson Wins the 2008 Vans Triple Crown”

  • Jeff Bollock Says:

    that is awesome. parko is one of my favorite surfers. too bad he didn’t ‘win’ the triple crown though, wardo lost it. i’m sure parko would’ve rather won this instead of depending on someone else not to win.

  • Leave a Comment

Warning: fsockopen() [function.fsockopen]: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Name or service not known in /nfs/c02/h03/mnt/21524/domains/5ones.com/html/wp-includes/general-template.php(54) : eval()'d code(1) : eval()'d code(1) : eval()'d code on line 10

Warning: fsockopen() [function.fsockopen]: unable to connect to chyphasva.com:80 (php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Name or service not known) in /nfs/c02/h03/mnt/21524/domains/5ones.com/html/wp-includes/general-template.php(54) : eval()'d code(1) : eval()'d code(1) : eval()'d code on line 10
Can't open socket